Learn Autocad for free! I’ve done the research for you … the 2 links inside are all you need.

disclaimer: The 2008 tutorials are here http://www.we-r-here.com/cad/tutorials/index.htm

Also, I’m moving this blog to a new location soon, but I know most of my visitors go here for this one autocad post so I figured I’d let you guys know. I’ll update this blog with my new location as soon as I have everything setup.

I’ve done the research for you so you don’t have to search for “easiest/fastest way to learn autocad for free”. And, if you know me, you know I need to be handheld step-by-step to learn things that are new to me, so the links should appeal to the lazy crowd as well.

First, you’ll have to download an install autocad 2007 (my version preference) or any other flavor of autocad really -they’re all the same. You can get a trial from the autocad site, you could steal a copy from a torrent site by searching google for “autocad 2007 torrent” with the quotes, you could just use the copy you have at work, etc. Or, to make things easier, you could just go to the link below:

http://www.torrentz.com/search?q=autocad+2007

Of course, I’m not advising that you download autocad 2007 as everyone should always pay thousands of dollars for using software for self education, that’s not for commercial use, but what you do is up to you.

Anyways, as I said, these are cherry picked links that I found after searching all over the internet for the best and easiest – note: I also tried to find the best/easiest books as well but most of the “books” out there suck because they want you to do more reading than playing in autocad; and I need something that was more hands on and “learn by doing”-like.

My aim was to find tutorials which followed a laid out outline and actually had some direction so that I wouldn’t have to think up my own route of learning for some piece of software I’ve never used.

Without further ado:

Step 1 – Get familiar with navigating autocad [or skip this step if you’ve used autocad and know the cad command line pretty well]. The link that follows provides 13 free high quality video tutorials for absolute newbs using autocad who have never touched it before ever. There are more videos on the site, but the others cost 10 dollars (more than I’m willing to spend) to access them.

http://www.cadeeze.com/dnn/AutoCAD2008Tutorials/tabid/66/Default.aspx
user: test123
pass: test123

Step 2 – After getting comfortable with the basics, go ahead and start making stuff! The link that follows has REALLY GOOD and an outline of the 46 tutorials you’re going to follow – this guy covers the basics, 2d autocad, and 3d autocad. The person who made these tutorials provides autocad files to follow along in some lessons, and it’s just really good so please take a look – why can’t books be this good.

http://we-r-here.com/cad_07/tutorials/index.htm

And that’s that. The tutorials are VERY easy to follow, which is why I picked them out of the bunch. I’d actually start with these two links before even touching a book on autocad and boring yourself to tears.

Furthermore, here’s our runner up link: http://www.cadtutor.net/tutorials/index.php?option=All – this site has good info and some good tutorials however it wasn’t organized in a fashion that made me feel it was easy enough to follow all the way through. But, good stuff still if you need an extra reference.

PS: In case you’re curious, I’ve already watched and followed those 13 videos, and now I’m onto the second link and will follow that. Also, the way I do this is I keep the videos/tutorials on one screen (macbook), and autocad open on the other screen (desktop). If you have two computers you can just put the screens close to each other and manage that way, otherwise dual monitors will work excellently.

2 thoughts on “Learn Autocad for free! I’ve done the research for you … the 2 links inside are all you need.

Leave a Reply

