An Example of Flow and Productivity From My Computer

After pressing [ctrl]+[shift]+[z], which are the shortcut operators I assigned with my quick command software, I type in “firefox? to start up my firefox browser – actually, my version of firefox is deerpark because I like to play with beta versions. I don’t use a lot of firefox plugins, however, because too much stuff makes ewonks productivity plumet. Once firefox is good and loaded, I’ll open up two tabs and type in “gmail.google.com? and “reader.google.com?. These services are Gmail and Google Reader. You may be wondering why I don’t just put a big button somewhere instead of going through the trouble of typing it all out. The answer to that is simple: I type faster than I can move my mouse.

First I’ll read all of the new email in my box. Then I’ll go and read my news feeds. It may be beneficial for you to know how my incoming mail is never “a lot?. It’s pretty simple: I don’t accept forwards like chainletters and crap from anyone, I don’t subscribe to shit that sends a crap load of email and nonsense to my inbox (that’s what my OTHER email account is for – I call this the bullshit account, and it’s only used to register on sites that I’m “unsure? about), I don’t get any newsletters because I know I’d never read them anyway, and I don’t have my email posted all over the internet for robots to snipe.

Anyways, I go through my inbox like so: If there’s an email that I want to respond to or re-read, I’ll press the “star item? button, and then I’ll press the “archive all? button. Archiving all basically moves everything from my inbox to my archive – this keeps things clean and neat for my eyeball pleasure. No, I don’t really have to put any email in a folder because gmail has a really REALLY nice search feature built in. Yay. After I’ve archived everything, I’ll go to my starred section and scroll through, unstarring things as I’ve had my way with them. And if there is an email that I’m not done with, for instance I might want to write a response back to someone that would take longer than 10 minutes, then I’ll write down a note about it in the inbox of my hipster pda for later processing.

My feeds are all quality feeds. I don’t subscribe to anything that I not completely interested in, and try to keep my list of feeds to a minimum. The google reader allows me to scroll my feeds with minimal effort via shortcuts. I just press [j] to go to the next feed or [k] to go to the previous feed. No, I don’t browse by category, and no I do not spend time looking for new feeds anymore – if I end up at a page that I think I might like, I’ll write it down in the inbox of my hipster pda for later processing (that’s called organizing and managing your time); and if I’m sure that I like the page, and that it’ll take 10 minutes or less to investigate the site and add it to my feeds, then I’ll go right ahead and do so.

Since my feeds are quality feeds that I spent time organizing, just about everyday that I read them I’ll find something there that I MIGHT want to save forever. The articles that fit that description get starred – google reader (and gmail) has a star next to each item so you can click the “show all starred? button to see everything that you starred. I’ll only star an item if it looks like I might want to read it again, or save it forever. And after I’ve read all the feeds for the day, I’ll go to my starred section and re-read the things in there. While I’m re-reading, I’ll go from top to bottom clicking the ‘go to external link’ link which opens pages in a new tab in firefox, either saving pages with Offline Explorer (OE isn’t free, so for free you can use HTTtrack) and unstarring them, or not saving them and still unstarring. So after I’m finished with the starred section, there won’t be any more stars, but I’ll have some saved pages on my computer to read whenever I feel like it. At this point, I’m almost done with the internet … but there might be other things I wanted to do, like blogging something.

If I’ve written down “post about [topic] in [blog]? in the task list of my hipster pda then I’ll go ahead and type up a short outline, then an entry, to blogger via Microsoft word. I can do this because there’s a plugin called BloggerForWord which works nicely. I’d much rather type my entry in Microsoft Word than some webpage. I’d do the same thing with my livejournal too; instead of using the livejournal update page webpage I’ve installed the semagic livejournal client, which NOW also works with blogger, so I don’t have to log into no fucking webpage and mess up my flow. And for posting pictures up on my blog, I just use the flickr client. Flickr is great because you can tag your pictures, make albums, and it resizes each picture you put in to like five differnet sizes! I dig that.

Now, I am done with the internet, and will close firefox, and/or microsoft word, and/or semagic. Since I normally do these things in the mornings or at like midnight, at this point I’d probably be checking the weather with my weather widget (ships with konfabulator proram) that runs on Konfabulator. Oh look, the forecast says raining two days from now. Guess I don’t want to go on that camping trip after all. I could either delete the scheduled camping trip from my Rainlendar calendar, or I can go ahead and open up Mozilla Sunbird and delete from there. Doesn’t really matter which one I delete it from because they both sync together, making them exact updating replica’s of one another. Looks like I’ve got that taken care of so how about a nap?

Since I’m doing this polyphasic nappin experiment, I don’t really need that much sleep. With my polynapping, I generally sleep for 20 minutes every 4 hours throughout the day. The schedule is flexible though, so I may go up to 6 or 7 hours without a nap sometimes, or might even take a bonus nap if I feel like I could use one. This works and doesn’t make me die because in these naps, I get REM sleep and that’s pretty much the only sleep that matters. Those people who sleep at night time get just about the same amount (or more if they’re oversleeping) of REM sleep that one would get if they REM slept for a collective 2hrs and 30min of each day. Isn’t that vierd? So I’ll set my alarm widget in konfabulator to wake me up 20 minutes after I go to sleep, and I’ll stick my headphones on so I can hear the alarm – I don’t always need the headphones, or an alarm, but it’s just a precaution so I won’t fuck up. You see, I am new to this experiment, so polynapping isn’t a habit for me yet.

And that’s an example of how I might be productive and efficient on any given day. Since we’ve gotten this far, how about a money shot?

One thought on “An Example of Flow and Productivity From My Computer

  1. Pingback: [stuff]+words » Blog Archive » Hardcore Nazi-Focus

Comments are closed.